Commonwealth Games: England & Wales beaten in women's rugby sevens

England's Megan Jones in Commonwealth Games rugby sevens action
England's women beaten Fiji but then lost to Australia
2018 Commonwealth Games
Venue: Gold Coast, Australia Dates: 4-15 April
Coverage: Watch live on BBC TV and Red Button with extra streams on Connected TVs, BBC Sport website and app; listen on Radio 5 live; follow text updates online. Times and channels

England and Wales both lost to Olympic champions and host nation Australia on the first day of the women's rugby sevens at the Commonwealth Games.

England opened with a 17-5 victory over Fiji, before losing 29-12 to the hosts.

Wales lost 34-5 to the Australians before a 29-7 defeat by Fiji in their second Pool B match.

In Pool A, New Zealand scored 86 points without reply against Kenya (45-0) and South Africa (41-0), as Canada also won their opening two matches.

England and Wales meet in their final pool game at 09:59 BST on Saturday, while the men's competition also gets under way with England, Wales and Scotland all in action.


Join the conversation

These comments are now closed.