Glasgow 2014: Geraint Thomas and Becky James in Wales team

Becky James in action for Wales at the Commonwealth Games in Dehli in 2010

Double Olympic champion Geraint Thomas and two-time world champion Becky James have been named in the Welsh Commonwealth cycling team.

James and Lewis Oliva will ride in the track sprint events.

Thomas and fellow Team Sky rider Luke Rowe will compete as part of the men's road team.

Also included in the 17-strong squad are world team pursuit champion Elinor Barker, World Cup medallists Jon Mould, Sam Harrison and Owain Doull.

Double world champion pilot Rachel James has been paired with Rhiannon Henry in the para-cycling tandem in the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome.

Sport Wales has set a target of three medals for Welsh cyclists in Glasgow.

Welsh Cycling's performance director, Matt Cosgrove, says they have selected a competitive team.

"We have selected a team that is led by strong experienced riders, who have achieved at the highest level of international competition," said Cosgrove.

"They are supported by a large number of talented young riders who have demonstrated their ability to perform on the world stage.

"We are looking forward to competing at the Commonwealth Games this summer in Glasgow."


Women's track:

Elinor Barker (Cardiff); Amy Hill (Newport); Ciara Horne (Kenilworth); Becky James (Abergavenny); Hayley Jones (Port Talbot) and Amy Roberts (Carmarthen).

Women's road:

Elinor Barker (Cardiff); Amy Hill (Newport); Ciara Horne (Kenilworth); Hayley Jones (Port Talbot) and Amy Roberts (Carmarthen).

Men's track:

Owain Doull (Cardiff); Sam Harrison (Risca); Jon Mould (Newport) and Lewis Oliva (Monmouthshire).

Men's road:

Scott Davies (Carmarthen); Owain Doull (Cardiff); Sam Harrison (Risca); Jon Mould (Newport); Luke Rowe (Cardiff) and Geraint Thomas (Cardiff).

Men's para-track:

Matt Ellis (Nottingham) and Ieuan Williams (Cardiff) - Pilot.

Women's para-cycling track:

Rhiannon Henry (Bridgend) and Rachel James (Abergavenny) - Pilot.