Basketball: Leicester Riders win BBL Championship title

Rob Paternostro

Leicester Riders claimed the British Basketball League championship title for the first time in their history after a 93-70 win over Durham Wildcats.

A 15th successive victory ensured they cannot be pipped for top spot with nearest challengers Newcastle Eagles eight points adrift in second.

"It has been a long time coming, but my hat is off to this Riders team," said Leicester coach Rob Paternostro.

"They have been just brilliant. They really deserve this Championship."

Leicester led from start to finish with the scoring a real team effort, led by Anthony Rowe with 15 points, although it was Wildcats' Andrew Keister who was top scorer with 16.

Plymouth Raiders squandered the chance to go two points clear of Glasgow Rocks in third as they went down to a 78-72 home defeat by Sheffield Sharks.

Matt Schneck led all scorers with 21 points but it was not sufficient for the Raiders who failed to build on a four-point lead at the halfway point.