BBC Sports Personality panel choose top 10 shortlist

The top 10 contenders for the Sports Personality of Year award 2014 have been chosen.

The panel included Olympians Rebecca Adlington and Denise Lewis, Paralympic star Tanni Grey-Thompson and former footballer Jason Roberts.

They decided the shortlist for the main award, as well as the Team of the Year, Coach of the Year and Overseas Sports Personality.

Adlington joined the panel, consisting of 12 people in total, for the first time and said it was "a great honour to be included".

Other representatives on the panel included newspaper sports editors Mike Dunn (Independent, the i and Evening Standard), Howard Wheatcroft (Express Newspapers head of sport) and Alex Butler (Sunday Times), pan-sports broadcaster/journalist Alison Mitchell and chair of SportScotland Louise Martin.

Director of BBC Sport Barbara Slater chaired the panel alongside Philip Bernie (head of TV sport) and Carl Doran (executive editor, BBC Sports Personality of the Year).

The BBC Sports Personality of the Year will be held in Glasgow on Sunday, 14 December at the SSE Hydro in front of an estimated 12,000 audience.

The show will be broadcast on BBC One, with the overall winner being voted for by the public during the show.

The top 10 contenders will be announced on The One Show on BBC One, Monday 24 November, from 19:00 GMT.