European Team Championships: Asher-Smith leads GB & NI bid

Dina Asher-Smith
Dina Asher-Smith was the European junior 200m champion in 2013
European Athletics Team Championships
Venue: Cheboksary, Russia Dates: 20-21 June
Coverage: Live on BBC Two, online and BBC Sport app from 13:00-17:30 BST on Saturday and 12:30-14:05 BST on Sunday.

Dina Asher-Smith, the fastest British woman in history, has been named in the GB and Northern Ireland squad for the European Team Championships.

Asher-Smith, 19, clocked a British record in the 100m last month but will run the 200m in Russia, as well being part of the 4x100m relay team.

World and European indoor 60m champion Richard Kilty has also been selected, along with returning Olympic high jump bronze medallist Robbie Grabarz.

GB & NI finished fifth last year.

British Athletics has announced a 47-strong team for the event in Cheboksary on 20-21 June.

Performance Director Neil Black said: "The European Team Championships provides a good opportunity for us to develop and explore the pool of talent we have in this country.

"At this time of the season good decisions have to be made and we have selected a team with the aim of being competitive whilst giving some crucial debut opportunities to new names."

Great Britain and Northern Ireland team:


100m: Richard Kilty

200m: Danny Talbot

400m: Jarryd Dunn

800m: Guy Learmonth

1500m: Ross Murray

3000m: Andrew Butchart

5000m: Andy Vernon

3000m SC: Zak Seddon

110mH: Lawrence Clarke

400mH: Jack Green

High Jump: Robbie Grabarz

Pole Vault: Jax Thoirs

Long Jump: Dan Bramble

Triple Jump: Nathan Douglas

Shot: Zane Duquemin

Discus: Brett Morse

Hammer: Nick Miller

Javelin: Bonne Buwembo

4x100m: James Ellington, Richard Kilty, Andy Robertson, Danny Talbot, Chijindu Ujah

4x400m: Dan Awde, Jarryd Dunn, Jack Green, Conrad Williams, Rabah Yousif


100m: Asha Philip

200m: Dina Asher-Smith

400m: TBC

800m: Alison Leonard

1500m: Rhianwedd Price

3000m: Kate Avery

5000m: Lily Partridge

3000mSC: Lennie Waite

100mH: Serita Solomon

400mH: Eilidh Child

High Jump: Isobel Pooley

Pole Vault: Sally Peake

Long Jump: Jazmin Sawyers

Triple Jump: Laura Samuel

Shot: Rachel Wallader

Discus: Kirsty Law

Hammer: Sophie Hitchon

Javelin: Laura Whittingham

4x100m: Margaret Adeoye, Dina Asher-Smith, Asha Philip, Bianca Williams, Jodie Williams

4x400m: Margaret Adeoye, Meghan Beesley, Eilidh Child, Laura Maddox, Kelly Massey, Jodie Williams