European Championships 2014: James Dasaolu makes GB team

Dasaolu wins 100m in 9.91 secs

James Dasaolu has been awarded the final 100m place in the British team for the European Championships in Zurich next month.

Britain's second-fastest sprinter of all time is chosen ahead of Chijindu Ujah and lines up with Dwain Chambers and Harry Aikines-Aryeetey.

Ujah, 20, the third-fastest Briton ever after running 9.96 seconds in June, is part of the men's relay team.

Dasaolu, 26, ran 9.91 secs in 2013 but has struggled with a hamstring injury.

Former world champion Dai Greene, 28, will compete in the 400m hurdles, despite having not achieved the qualifying time, while reigning world champion Christine Ohuruogu, 30, is selected for the women's 400m.

Double Olympic champion Mo Farah, 31, who has been struggling with illness recently, is set to go for the European double in the 5,000m and 10,000m, while 21-year-old heptathlete Katarina Johnson-Thompson is selected for the long jump after a personal best of 6.92m in the weekend's Diamond League meeting in Glasgow.

The championships start on 12 August in Switzerland.

Chambers, 36, and Aikines-Aryeetey, 25, had already cemented their places by finishing first and second at the trials in Birmingham last month, leaving the selectors a choice for the third member of the team.

Chijindu Ujah breaks 10-second barrier

Dasaolu has run just twice outdoors this season after suffering a hamstring tear during the indoor season but earned selection in the 74-strong team after running 10.03 secs in Glasgow.

He became the second-fastest Briton in history at the 100m semi-finals at the British Championships last year.

British Athletics performance director Neil Black said: "There is an expectation for members of this team to be winning medals or challenging hard at the top end in their finals with youngsters coming through from junior ranks and our experienced medallists performing as strongly as they have in previous years.

"I'm genuinely excited as to the strength of the team headed for Zurich and looking forward next month's championships in Switzerland."

GB & NI team for the European Athletics Championships:

Men - 100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Dwain Chambers, James Dasaolu; 200m: James Ellington, Adam Gemili, Daniel Talbot; 400m: Matthew Hudson-Smith, Martyn Rooney, Conrad Williams; 800m: Andrew Osagie, Michael Rimmer; 1500m: Charlie Grice, Chris O'Hare, Jake Wightman; 5000m: Mo Farah, Tom Farrell, Andy Vernon; 10000m: Mo Farah, Chris Thompson, Andy Vernon; 3000mSC: James Wilkinson; 110mH: William Sharman, Lawrence Clarke, Andy Turner; 400mH: Niall Flannery, Tom Burton, Dai Greene; High Jump: Chris Baker; Long Jump: JJ Jegede, Greg Rutherford, Chris Tomlinson; Triple Jump: Phillips Idowu, Julian Reid; Pole Vault: Steve Lewis, Luke Cutts, Jax Thoirs; Decathlon: Ashley Bryant; 20k Walk: Tom Bosworth; 4 x 100m: Aikines-Aryeetey, Chambers, Dasaolu, Ellington, Talbot, Gemili, Richard Kilty, Chinjindu Ujah; 4 x 400m: Michael Bingham, Hudson-Smith, Nigel Levine, Rooney, Williams, Rabah Yousif.

Women - 100m: Asha Philip, Ashleigh Nelson, Desiree Henry; 200m: Dina Asher-Smith, Bianca Williams, Jodie Williams; 400m: Christine Ohuruogu; 800m: Jessica Judd, Alison Leonard, Lynsey Sharp; 1500m: Hannah England, Laura Muir, Laura Weightman; 5000m: Julia Bleasdale, Emelia Gorecka, Jo Pavey; 10000m: Jo Pavey, Beth Potter, Julia Bleasdale; 100mH: Tiffany Porter; 400mH: Meghan Beesley, Eilidh Child; High Jump: Morgan Lake; Long Jump: Katarina Johnson-Thompson, Shara Proctor; Hammer Throw: Sophie Hitchon; Javelin: Goldie Sayers; 4 x 100m: Louise Bloor, Henry, Nelson, Anyika Onuora, Sophie Papps, Philip, B Williams, J Williams; 4 x 400m: Margaret Adeoye, Child, Shana Cox, Kelly Massey, Emily Diamond, Ohuruogu, Victoria Ohuruogu, J Williams.