Christine Ohuruogu and Mo Farah named Britain's athletes of the year

Mo Farah in the 5,000m final at August's World Championships

Christine Ohuruogu and Mo Farah have been named Britain's athletes of the year.

Farah, 30, was given the British Athletics Writers' Associations award for the fourth year in a row after winning the 5,000m and 10,000m races at August's World Championships.

Ohuruogu wins gold in 400m thriller

Ohuruogu, 29, won the women's prize for a third time after claiming the 400m title at the same event in Moscow.

Hannah Cockroft and Richard Whitehead took the Paralympics honours.

Cockcroft won the T34 100m by over a second and the 200m by almost two seconds in July's IPC World Athletics Championships, with Whitehead taking gold in the T42 200m final in Lyon.

Double Olympic gold medallist Farah finished ahead of sprinters Adam Gemili and James Dasaolu, while Ohuruogu edged British 400m hurdles champion Perri Shakes-Drayton and 100m hurdler Tiffany Porter.