Five Scots in UK team for European Championships in Gateshead

Scottish hurdler Eilidh Child

Five Scots have been named in the GB & NI team for the European Team Championships at Gateshead.

Eilidh Child will run in the 400m hurdles and 4x400m relay, with Eilish McColgan competing in the 3000m steeplechase.

Child is joined in the relay team by young sprinter Kirsten McAslan, who has had an impressive start to the season.

Hammer thrower Mark Dry and 3000m runner David Bishop have been selected for the men's team.

However, there is no place in the team for Steph Twell in the 5000m, or high jumper Jayne Nisbet, who leads the British outdoor rankings after a 1.85m clearance last weekend at Meadowbank.

GB & NI team for the European Athletics Team Championships:


100m: James Dasaolu; 200m: Danny Talbot; 400m: Nigel Levine; 800m: Andrew Osagie; 1500m: Charlie Grice; 3,000m: David Bishop; 5,000m: Mo Farah; 110m hurdles: William Sharman; 400m hurdles: Dai Greene; 3,000m steeplechase: Rob Mullett; High Jump: Robbie Grabarz; Long Jump: Greg Rutherford; Triple Jump: Nathan Douglas; Pole Vault: Steve Lewis; Shot Put: Zane Duquemin; Discus: Brett Morse; Hammer: Mark Dry; Javelin: Lee Doran; 4x100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Dwain Chambers, James Dasaolu, James Ellington, Joel Fearon, Adam Gemili, Richard Kilty, Danny Talbot; 4 x 400m: Michael Bingham, Richard Buck, Nigel Levine, Martyn Rooney, Richard Strachan, Conrad Williams.


100m: Asha Philip; 200m: Anyika Onuora; 400m: Perri Shakes-Drayton; 800m: Jessica Judd; 1500m: Hannah England; 3,000m: Laura Weightman; 5,000m: Emelia Gorecka; 100m hurdles: Tiffany Porter; 400m hurdles: Eilidh Child; 3,000m Steeplechase: Eilish McColgan; High Jump: Isobel Pooley; Long Jump: Shara Proctor; Triple Jump: Yamile Aldama; Pole Vault: Holly Bleasdale; Shot Put: Sophie McKinna; Discus: Jade Lally; Hammer: Sophie Hitchon; Javelin: Freya Jones; 4x100m: Annabelle Lewis, Anyika Onuora, Asha Philip, Tiffany Porter, Bianca Williams; 4x400m: Meghan Beesley, Eilidh Child, Shana Cox, Kirsten McAslan, Christine Ohuruogu, Victoria Ohuruogu.