Mark Cavendish: Cycling star named Manx sportsman of the year for ninth time

Mark Cavendish with silver medal
Cavendish's Olympic silver medal came at his third Games.

Cyclist Mark Cavendish has been named the Isle of Man's Sportsman of the Year for the ninth time.

The 'Manx Missile' won a silver medal at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro in the men's omnium.

The 31-year-old also won four stages of the Tour de France before focusing on the Olympics and has now won 30, just four fewer than Eddy Merckx's record.

Swimmer Charlotte Atkinson was named Sportswomen of the Year after winning British 100m and 200m butterfly titles.

Charlotte Atkinson
Atkinson became a double British champion in 2016

Isle of Man Sport executive chairman Gary Corkhill said: "We have once again demonstrated that our Island punches above its weight in the world's sporting arena.

"The ongoing success of Manx athletes at international level in 2016 made our deliberations difficult and we must congratulate not only our award winners but all those who were shortlisted."

Kate Richardson-Walsh OBE, the captain of Great Britain's Olympic gold-medal team, was guest of honour at the awards ceremony in Douglas.

MotoGP rider Cal Crutchlow won the ambassador of the year award.

His victory in the Czech Republic GP was the first for a British racer in the top flight since Barry Sheene in 1981. He also won the Australian GP.

Professional snooker player Darryl Hill was inducted into the Hall of Fame for his European Under-21 Championship win in 2015.

His victory earned him a place on the professional circuit and he is currently ranked in the world's top 100.

Cal Crutchlow
Cal Crutchlow became the first British racer in 3

Isle of Man Sport Awards winners 2016

Sportsman of the Year

Mark Cavendish

Sportswoman of the Year

Charlotte Atkinson

IOM Ambassador of the Year

Cal Crutchlow

Under 21 Sportsman of the Year

Matthew Bostock

Under 21 Sportswoman of the Year

Ella Doherty

Team of the Year

Manx Sidecar Trials Team

Coach of the Year

Raj Nandha

Administrator of the Year

Tony Mepham

Disability Sportsperson of the Year

Ben Grainger

Veteran Sportsperson of the Year

Richard Gerrard

Lifetime Achievement Award

Dursley Stott