AFL Grand Final: Western Bulldogs beat Sydney to end 62-year title wait

Tom Boyd of the Bulldogs celebrates
Boyd was one of the star performers for the victorious Bulldogs

Melbourne's Western Bulldogs beat Sydney Swans in the Grand Final to win Australian Rules Football's Premiership for the first time since 1954.

The Bulldogs won 89-67 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground to break the Australian Football League's longest Premiership title drought of 62 years.

"It's just an amazing performance from our boys," said Bulldogs coach Luke Beveridge.

"Some of those efforts in the last quarter were just sensational."

The Bulldogs were appearing in only their third Grand Final, and first since 1961, and they became the first team to reach the championship showdown having finished seventh in the regular season.

Jarrad McVeigh of the Swans attempts to mark
Sydney trailed by two points going into the second half

The club from Melbourne's western suburbs went into receivership in 1989 and was only kept afloat through the fundraising of supporters.

Sydney were bidding for their sixth title and second in five years but were outplayed in the final quarter.

Two goals from Liam Picken, whose father lost in four Grand Finals, and a long-range effort from Tom Boyd settled the contest in front of 99,989 spectators.

Bulldogs captain Bob Murphy, who suffered a season-ending knee injury in April, was an emotional figure on the sidelines, and Beveridge gave his winner's medal to Murphy at the trophy presentation.

The match had begun without incident despite indigenous rights campaigners calling for Australians to follow the lead of NFL players and boycott the national anthem.

Western Bulldogs