Mark Cavendish: Cyclist among Isle of Man awards nominees

Mark Cavendish is nominated for Isle of Man Sportsman of the Year

Cyclist Mark Cavendish has been nominated for Sportsman of the Year at the 2014 Isle of Man Sports Awards.

Cavendish, who crashed out of last year's Tour de France, is one of eight nominees also including fellow cyclist Peter Kennaugh and European 80kg taekwondo champion Aaron Cook.

Olympic snowboarder Zoe Gillings is one of six in the female category.

The winners of those and nine other awards will be revealed at the Villa Marina in Douglas on 26 March.

European 10,000m champion Jo Pavey will be the guest of honour at the ceremony.

IOM Sport executive chairman, Gary Corkhill said it had been "an amazing year of achievements".

He continued: "Short-listing becomes a harder task as each year goes by. For example, eight nominations have been shortlisted for the Sportsman of the Year award, all of whom would make very worthy winners."

This year, Isle of Man Sport has added the new category for Veteran Sportsperson of the Year.

The ceremony will also feature the presentation of a special Lifetime Achievement Award, as well the Sports Aid sponsorships to young Manx athletes.

Isle of Man Sports Awards Nominations 2014

Sportsman of the Year

Mark Cavendish (Cycling); Mark Christian (Cycling); Aaron Cook (Taekwondo); Conor Cummins (Motorcycling); Peter Kennaugh (Cycling); Tim Kneale (Shooting); David Knight (Enduro); Danny McCanney (Enduro).

Sportswoman of the Year

Sarah Astin (Athletics); Charlotte Atkinson (Swimming); Anna Christian (Cycling); Sue Denny (Equestrian); Zoe Gillings (Snowboarding); Jackie Taggart (Fell Running).

Under-21 Sportsman of the Year

George Blackwell (Rugby); Alex Bregazzi (Swimming); Guy Davies (Swimming); Jake Kelly (Cycling); Chris Mealin (Motorsport); Joseph Reid (Athletics).

Under-21 Sportswoman of the Year

Charlotte Atkinson (Swimming); Anna Christian (Cycling); Aalin George (Archery); Kirsten George (Archery); Grace Harrison (Gymnastics); Yasmin Ingham (Equestrian); Laura Kinley (Swimming).

Disability Sportsperson of the Year

Lawrence Dyer (Athletics); Ben Grainger (Swimming); Juan Greggor (Equestrian); Zoe Lambie (Walking); Elizabeth Tinkler (Special Olympics); Duncan Watterson (Athletics).

Team of the Year

2014 Special Olympics Team; Ellan Vannin Football Team; IOM Commonwealth Games Women's Gymnastics Team; IOM FA Senior Men's Football Team; IOM Arena League Swimming Team.

Administrator of the Year

Malcolm Blackburn (Football); Mike McMahon (Sailing); Leonie Cooil (Swimming); Steve Taylor (Walking); Philip Taubman (Motorcycling); Tonia Lushington (IOMCGA).

IOM Ambassador

Mark Cavendish (Cycling); Conor Cummins (Motorcycling); David Higgins (Rallying); Peter Kennaugh (cycling); David Knight (Enduro); Danny McCanney (Enduro).

Coach of the Year

Chris Bass Sr (Football); Steve Burns (Football); Lee Holland (Swimming); David Hudson (Special Olympics); Tom Melvin (Athletics).

Veteran Sportsperson of the Year

Nikki Boyde (Athletics); Kevin Deakes (Athletics); Gail Griffiths (Athletics); Dave Molyneux (Motorcycling); Andrew Roche (Cyling); Lloyd Taggart (Fell Running).

Lifetime Achievement Award

The winner is selected by the Sports Awards Committee.

Top Stories