BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

16 October 2014

BBC Homepage

Sport Scotland
A Sporting Nation

List All Articles

- By Sport
- By Date
Media Player
Future Stars
Radio Series
Submit an Article
Contact Us

Contact Us

Early Days: 1744 - 1899
Camanachd Cup
Donald Dinnie
Foundation of world's first golf club 1744
Launceston Elliott
Leslie M Balfour Melville
Old Tom Morris
Renton Crowned World Champions
Scottish League formed
The first combined shinty/hurling match 1897
The first international football match
The first international rugby match
The first Melrose Sevens match 1883
The Founding of Celtic Football Club 1888
Young Tom Morris

Edwardian Heroes: 1900 - 1913
Arthur Robertson
George Cornet wins water polo Olympic gold 1912
James Braid
The Yacht Hera: Paisley's Olympic Champion 1908
Wyndham Halswelle

War Years: 1914 - 1949
Benny Lynch crowned world champion 1935
Eric Liddell
First Scottish Grand Slam
Jackie Paterson: World Champion 1943
Jimmie Guthrie win European Grand Prix 1935
Johnny Hill, Scotland's first boxing world champion 1928
The 1938 Triple Crown
Tommy Armour
Wembley Wizards 1928

Rock'n'Roll Era: 1950 - 1959
Bob McIntyre breaks 100mph lap at TT 1957
Dick McTaggart
Elenor Gordon wins first Scottish Commonwealth gold 1950
George Kerr - Mr Judo's European triumph 1957
Helen Elliott wins second World Doubles Title 1950
Hibernian reach the first European Cup semi-finals 1956
Ian Black - swimming record breaker 1958
Jessie Valentine: queen of golf 1958
Scotland and the 1950 World Cup

Swinging Sixties: 1960 - 1969
Bobby McGregor, the Falkirk Flyer 1964
Celtic win European Cup 1967
Jackie Stewart world champion 1969
Jim Clark's wonder year 1965
Walter McGowan wins flyweight world title 1966
Wembley Wizards 1967

Ups and Downs: 1970 - 1979
1970 Commonwealth Games
1978 World Cup
David Wilkie wins gold in Montreal 1976
Ian Stewart
Jim Watt wins world lightweight title 1979
Ken Buchanan wins world lightweight title 1970
Mike Denness Wisden Cricketer of the Year 1975
Rangers triumph in Europe 1972
Rodney Pattison retains Olympic Gold 1972
The Ibrox Disaster 1971
Winnie Shaw reaches Wimbledon semis 1972

Silver and Gold: 1980 - 1989
Alister Allan shoots Olympic silver 1988
Allan Wells 1980 Moscow Olympics
Andy Irvine inspires victory over France 1980
Dundee Utd reach the UEFA Cup Final 1987
Ian Stark
Jock Stein dies 1985
Jocky Wilson: Pride of Kirkcaldy
Liz McColgan and Yvonne Murray
Robert Millar: Reclusive Star
Sandy Lyle's Open triumph 1985
The Grand Slam of 1984
The New Firm and the Dons' Cup-Winners' Cup glory in 1983

New Sports, New Champions: 1990 - 1999
Colin McRae's first World Rally title 1995
Graeme Obree: Homegrown Hero
Grand Slam 1990
John Higgins wins snooker world championship 1998
Louise Aitken-Walker world rally champion 1990
Pat Clinton
Paul Lawrie wins the 1999 Open
Richard Corsie
Scotland Open the World Cup 1998
Scotland's Rugby World Cup 1991
Stephen Hendry wins record seventh snooker title 1999
The new Hampden re-opens 1994
Willie Carson: King of the Derby

New Millennium: 2000 -
Alison Sheppard's fifth Olympics 2004
Chris Hoy wins Olympic gold 2004
Craig MacLean wins World Championship gold 2002
David Coulthard's best season 2001
David Millar's fall from grace
Monty's Ryder Cup 2004
Olympic Curling Gold 2002
Peter Nicol defects to England 2001
Scott Harrison regains WBO title 2003
Shirley Robertson wins second Olympic gold 2004
Stephanie Cook

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy