Cairnwell Pass (Highland)

Use the arrows to drag to fade between the old and new photographs

Colour image of a vintage Daimler motorcar climbing a steep, double-hairpin section of road in a mountainous area of grass and heather. A small crowd of people stand waving at the roadside.
  • Photograph:Alex H Hamilton
Colour view of a vintage Daimler motorcar climbing a straight section of road with a hairpin bend behind. The surrounding mountainous area is covered in grass and heather.
  • Photograph: Colin Prior

Features of the area

Highland Group

Highland is one of Scotland’s 32 unitary council areas. It is the largest local government area in both Scotland and the United Kingdom as a whole.

The area was created as a two-tier region in 1975 with Highland Region being divided into eight districts, Badenoch and Strathspey, Caithness, Inverness, Lochaber, Nairn, Ross and Cromarty, Skye and Lochalsh and Sutherland.

In 1996, Highland Regional Council and the district councils were wound up and their functions were transferred to a new Highland Council. It borders Moray, Aberdeenshire, Perth and Kinross, and Argyll and Bute.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.