Bridgeton (City of Glasgow)

Use the arrows to drag to fade between the old and new photographs

Black and white view of the Bridgeton Cross Shelter, an octagonal shelter supported on slim columns with a short clock tower above.
  • Photograph:Unknown
Colour view of Bridgeton Cross Shelter on a snowy day.
  • Photograph: Joe Porter

Features of the area

City of Glasgow Group

City of Glasgow is one of Scotland's 32 unitary council areas and serves the largest population of any of Scotland's councils. It was set up in 1996, with boundaries altered from those of the then City of Glasgow district of Strathclyde region: Rutherglen and Fernhill, Cambuslang and Halfway were transferred from the city area to the new South Lanarkshire council area.

It is bordered by West Dunbartonshire, East Dunbartonshire, North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire and East Renfrewshire.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.