Closures of some BBC local radio medium wave services

Image
Radio

The BBC is committed to a digital future for radio, and in the past few years we have funded local DAB expansion, made all local radio stations available on digital terrestrial TV (such as Freeview), and we have transformed our online and mobile offering with BBC Sounds.

The majority of radio listening in the UK – including the BBC – is now digital, and digital listening is continuing to grow.  We want to make our services available to you when and how you want them, but it’s also right that the BBC continues to ensure that the ways we distribute our services represent good value for money for you, the licence fee payer.

We know that the changes will impact some of you, and we want to make sure that people listening to these transmissions will be able to use other methods to hear the same programmes.

All stations which will be affected will continue to be on FM and digital outputs (such as DAB, digital television, or online). For most people, re-tuning their radios or cars to FM or DAB is likely to be the simplest solution.

You can check our problem assistant tool to get more information on how to access all BBC services in your area.

The stations which will no longer be transmitted on MW are:

  • Three Counties Radio (3CR)
  • Radio Merseyside
  • Radio Newcastle
  • Radio Solent (for Dorset)
  • Radio Solent
  • Radio Cornwall
  • Radio York

In addition, Radio Wales in Tywyn, Forden and Llandrindod Wells transmitter areas, Radio Cumbria in areas in and around Whitehaven and Radio Norfolk in areas in and around Norwich will have reduced MW coverage.

Where to find the alternatives to your MW stations:

 

Current MW Station Online FM DAB Name Freeview Annoncement date Shutdown of service
BBC Three Counties Radio 630 kHz, 1161 kHz bbc.co.uk/threecountiesradio 103.8 FM in Luton and Dunstable 95.5FM in Bedford and Letchworth 98.0 FM in High Wycombe 104.5FM in Milton Keynes 90.4FM in Welwyn, Hertford and Stevenage 92.1FM in Hemel Hempstead 94.7FM in Aylesbury BBC 3CR 720 17-Feb 06-Apr
BBC Radio York 666 kHz, 1260 kHz bbc.co.uk/radioyork 103.7 FM Vale of York, Tadcaster, Selby, Knaresborough, Harrogate 104.3 FM Ripon, Thirsk, Northallerton 95.5 FM Scarborough BBC Radio York (long) BBC York (short) 720 24-Feb 06-Apr
BBC Newcastle 1458 kHz bbc.co.uk/bbcnewcastle 95.4 FM Tyne and Wear, County Durham 96.0 FM North Northumberland 103.7FM Hexham 104.4FM Parts of Gateshead and Newcastle BBC Newcastle (long) BBC Newc (short) 719 26-Feb 07-Apr
BBC Radio Cornwall 630 kHz, 657 kHz bbc.co.uk/radiocornwall 95.2 FM Cornwall (east of, and including, Bodmin) 103.9 FM Cornwall (west of Bodmin) 96.0 FM Isles of Scilly BBC Cornwall (long) BBC Cnwl (short) 721 02-Mar 07-Apr
BBC Radio Solent 999 kHz, 1359 kHz bbc.co.uk/radiosolent 96.1 FM Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Bournemouth, Poole 103.8 FM Dorchester, Weymouth, Portland* BBC Radio Solent (long) BBC Slnt (short) 722 726* 04-Mar 08-Apr
BBC Radio Cumbria 1458 kHz (reduced MW coverage) bbc.co.uk/radiocumbria 104.1 FM - Whitehaven 95.6 FM - Workington, Cockermouth - 721 09-Mar 08-Apr
BBC Radio Merseyside 1485 kHz bbc.co.uk/radiomerseyside 95.8 FM BBC Merseyside (long) BBC Mrsy (short) 722 11-Mar 09-Apr
BBC Radio Norfolk 855 kHz (reduced MW coverage) bbc.co.uk/radionorfolk 95.1 FM - Norwich, east Norfolk, east coast 95.6 FM - North Norfolk cost (Cromer/Sheringham) BBC RadioNorfolk (long) BBC Norfk (short) 719 16-Mar 09-Apr
BBC Radio Wales 882 kHz, 1125 kHz (reduced MW coverage) bbc.co.uk/radiowales 91.3FM Llandrindod Wells BBC Radio Wales (long) 719 18-Mar 02-Apr
             

 

*carries Dorset breakfast show