BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

Accessibility help
Text only
BBC Homepage
BBC Radio
Woman's Hour - Weekdays 10-11am, Saturdays 4-5pm
Listen online to Radio 4

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!

  Game of Kings (1962) by Dorothy Dunnett  
Dorothy Dunnett
This historical romance is the first part of the family Saga known as the Lymond chronicles. Set in 16th century Scotland, Dunnett has created fictional characters that interact with real historical figures including Mary Queen of Scots.

The main character is Francis Crawford of Lymond who, despite being accused of treason, returns to his native Scotland to lead his band of outlaws against the English. But many readers are also attracted to the Lymond Chronicles' female characters, in particular Lady Christina Stewart, a confident young woman blind since birth, whose courage and devotion to Lymond is the book's central theme.

All Dunnett's 22 novels were scrupulously researched. She spent five years researching the life of the real Macbeth for her novel, King Hereafter, and claimed to have discovered his identity, something which had eluded professional historians.

Dorothy Dunnett's official website
Dorothy Dunnett Reader's Association
Mary Queen of Scots
Writers of Historical Fiction
BBC History: Scottish History

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external websites.
  Tell us what you think  
Listen now to the latest Woman's Hour
Listen Now
Latest programme
Listen again to previous programmes
Listen Again
Previous programmes

Retired? Downsizing? Moving home to be nearer the kids?

We'd like to hear your stories about moving house

Image: Find out how more about the Woman's Hour podcast
More about Woman's Hour podcasts

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy