[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

BBC - (none) - Jazz on 3 - Freedom of the City Festival [an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page was last updated in June 2006We've left it here for reference.More information

3 October 2014
Accessibility help
Text only

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!


Freedom of the City Festival

Friday 9 June 2006 23:30-1:00 (Radio 3)

Jez Nelson presents highlights from the Freedom of the City Festival, recorded at the Red Rose venue in London. Now in its sixth year, Freedom of the City showcases radical, improvised music and features many of the capital's most creative musicians. It is curated by saxophonist and pre-eminent improviser Evan Parker; drummer and percussionist Eddie Provost and Martin Davidson, of the Emanem record label.


1 hour 30 minutes


Signature tune

Artist Russell Gunn
Title Seventy Four Miles Away
Label Atlantic
LP Title Ethnomusicology Volume 1

Highlights of the Freedom of the City Festival recorded live at the Red Rose in Finsbury Park, London on 30 th April and 1 st May 2006

Line-up Ashley Wales - electronics, John Coxon - guitar, Evan Parker - tenor saxophone, Alex Ward - clarinet
Title I'll Take The Flack

Line-up Dave O'Connor - baritone saxophone, Chris Prosser - violin, Oli Mayne - vibes, Stefano Tedesco - percussion & electronics
Title Fast Quartet

Line-up Ensemble: Chris Burn - piano, Adelheid Sieuw - flute, John Butcher - soprano & tenor saxophone, Jan Huib Nas - guitar, John Edwards - bass, Matt Hutchinson - synthesizer
Title Side Railers

Line-up Terry Day - bamboo pipes & voice, Charlotte Hug - viola & voice
Title Sweet Miss Abundantly

Line-up Iskra 3 : Paul Rutherford - trombone, Robert Jarvis & Lawrence Casserley - live computer processing
Title Dowscahta

Line-up Tara Stuckey - clarinet, Sam Rebello - flute, Seymour Wright - alto saxophone, Jamie Coleman - trumpet
Title Slow Quartet

Line-up Quaqua: John Russell - guitar, Jean-Michel Van Schouwburg - voice, Nicole Legros - voice, Stefan Keune - alto saxophone, Phillip Wachsmann - violin, Ashley Wales - piano, Ivor Kallin - bass, Javier Carmona - percussion, Steve Beresford - electronics
Title During

Line-up Eddie Prévost - percussion, John Butcher - soprano & tenor saxophones
Title Festival Work

Line-up Gail Brand - trombone, Guy Strale - piano, clarinet & percussion
Title Party People

Line-up Furt: Richard Barrett - electronics & Paul Obermayer - electronics
Title Omnivm

Line-up Garry Todd - tenor saxophone, Nigel Coombes - violin, Nick Stephens - bass, Tony Marsh - drums
Title Stipple

Line-up Chefa Alonso - soprano saxophone, David Leahy - bass, Javier Carmona - percussion
Title Madrid NZ

Line-up Inaudible Quartet: Jean-Michel Van Schouwburg - voice, Adelheid Sieuw - flute, Jan Huib Nas - guitar, Guy Strale - piano & percussion
Title Brussels Quartet

Line-up Evan Parker Octet: Evan Parker - soprano & tenor saxophones, Neil Metcalfe - flute, John Rangecroft - clarinet, John Russell - guitar, Philip Wachsmann - violin, John Edwards - bass, Agustí Fernández - piano, Charlotte Hug - viola
Title Octet 4

Line-up Alan Wilkinson - alto & baritone saxophones, Joe Williamson - bass, Eddie Prévost - percussion
Title Better Late Than Never

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy