BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

Accessibility help
Text only
BBC Homepage
BBC Music
BBC Radio 3

Radio 3

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!

Artur Pizarro - The Beethoven Sonata Cycle
Piano Sonata No. 2 in A, Op. 2 No. 2
Allegro vivace
Largo appassionata
Scherzo: Allegretto
Rondo: Grazioso

Beethoven's first three piano sonatas were dedicated to the figure who had inspired him to move from his home town of Bonn to Vienna, Joseph Haydn. No. 2 is notable for the way we see Beethoven already treating his musical material as motifs more than themes: the first movement opens with a succession of these ideas, a mixture of arpeggio and scalic figures. The slow movement is an expressive Largo in which the piano etches out an accompaniment like a pizzicato double bass. The playful scherzo has a more lyrical trio at its heart, while the finale is a wide-ranging rondo, marked "grazioso" (graceful), but finding room for more rhythmic energy in the central episodes.

Artur Pizarro
Related Links
on radio 3
on the web
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external websites.

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy