Radio 2 Events

Radio 2 Young Choristers of the Year 2008

Radio 2 Young Chorister winners 2008

Alice Halstead and Harry Bradford were named as the 2008 Radio 2 Young Choristers of the Year.

See the pictures
  • Charles Hazlewood hosted the final where eight hopefuls each performed a sacred song and a hymn in front of a panel of judges and a large audience in St Paul's Cathedral, London. The judging panel was chaired by Andrew Carwood, the distinguished director of music at St Paul's, Carrie Grant, and the director of the winning choir in Last Choir Standing, Tim Rhys-Evans.

    The eight finalists were:

    Olivia Castle from Framlingham College Chapel, Suffolk
    Alice Halstead from Parish Church of St. Alphege, Solihull
    Anwen Hughes from St Asaph Cathedral, Denbighshire
    Jessica Smith from All Saints' Church, Northampton

    Harry Bradford from Chapel Royal, St James's Palace
    Charlie McNelly from Temple Church, London
    James Orrell from Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral
    David Paynes from St Robert's Church, Pannal

    The Radio 2 Young Choristers of the Year 2008 were named as Alice Halstead (14) and Harry Bradford (12). They each received a trophy and the opportunity to appear on both national radio and television throughout the year.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.