BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

Accessibility help
Text only
BBC Homepage
BBC Music

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!





MogwaiSerious guitar music: that's what Mogwai set out to make, and it's fair to say they've achieved their aim. Formed in Glasgow in 1996 by schoolfriends Stuart Braithwaite (guitars / vocals), Dominic Aitchison (guitars) and Martin Bulloch (drums), from their debut album 'Mogwai Young Team' (1996') on they came to define what was termed 'post-rock' - dense, layered guitars, with little or no vocals, interspersed with bursts of white noise. In 1998 they released a remix collection called 'Kicking a Dead Pig', followed by the 'No Education No Future (F**k the Curfew)' EP. 1999 saw the release of 'Come On Die Young', then 'Rock Action' and the 'My Father My Kind' EP in 2001. Next was 'Happy Songs for Happy People' (yeah right - Mogwai were never the happiest-sounding fellows) in 2003, followed by 'Government Commissions BBC Sessions 1996-2004'. This last was introduced by John Peel himself, but sadly he died before it was released.



About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external websites