Main content


This year's awards see the addition of the Radio 2 Folk Awards Hall of Fame, recognising the special contribution of an individual to the world of folk music; someone whose impact and influence has had a lasting impression.

The first entrant to be inducted into the Hall of Fame will be Victorian song and dance collector Cecil Sharp - widely regarded as a key figure who helped lay the foundations for the first folk revival in the early 20th century.

Read on for details of the rest of the winners of the 2014 Folk Awards:

Good Tradition Award: Cambridge Folk Festival

Eddie Barcan & Joan Wollard collected this award recognising fifty years of promoting folk music.

Best Duo: Phillip Henry & Hannah Martin


  • Ross Ainslie & Jarlath Henderson
  • Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker
  • Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita
  • Phillip Henry & Hannah Martin

Best Traditional Track: Willie of Winsbury - Anaïs Mitchell & Jefferson Hamer


  • Codi Angor – Georgia Ruth
  • Les Bras de Mer – Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita
  • Mary Macdonald’s – Rant
  • Willie of Winsbury - Anaïs Mitchell & Jefferson Hamer

Musician of the Year: Aidan O’Rourke


  • Aidan O’Rourke
  • Will Pound
  • Martin Simpson
  • Sam Sweeney

Horizon Award: Greg Russell & Ciaran Algar


  • Olivia Chaney
  • Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker
  • Greg Russell & Ciaran Algar
  • Georgia Ruth

BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award: The Mischa Macpherson Trio


  • Hattie Briggs
  • Gentlemen of Few
  • Granny’s Attic
  • The Mischa Macpherson Trio

Behind The Scenes: Watch the Young Folk Award nominees convening in Kendal for a weekend of performances and workshops.

Best Original Song: Two Ravens – Lisa Knapp


  • Love’s For Babies and Fools – Linda Thompson
  • None the Wiser – Chris Wood
  • Swimming in the Longest River – Olivia Chaney
  • Two Ravens – Lisa Knapp

Best Album: The Full English – The Full English

As voted for by listeners to BBC Radio 2

  • Child Ballads – Anaïs Mitchell & Jefferson Hamer
  • The Full English – The Full English
  • Hidden Seam – Lisa Knapp
  • Vagrant Stanzas – Martin Simpson
  • Won’t Be Long Now – Linda Thompson

:: Full vote terms and conditions

Best Group


  • Breabach
  • The Full English
  • Lau
  • Melrose Quartet

Folk Singer of the Year: Bella Hardy


  • Bella Hardy
  • Fay Hield
  • Lisa Knapp
  • Lucy Ward