Main content


170 influential UK-based music critics, editors, broadcasters and bloggers helped put together the BBC Sound of 2014 list by naming their favourite new acts.


Steven Ackroyd - Editor, This Is Fake DIY

Mark Adams - Head Of Music, Box Television

Alicia Adejobi - Music Editor, Entertainmentwise

Sam Ajilore - Founder & Editor, That Grape Juice

Annika Allen - Editorial Director, Flavour Magazine

Duncan Allen - Music Programming Manager, MTV

Melanie Armstrong - Head Of Music, HMV

Tom Aylott - Editor, Punktastic


B.Traits - Presenter, BBC Radio 1 & BBC Radio 1Xtra

Michael Baggs - Editor, Gigwise

Alex Baker - Presenter, Kerrang! Radio

Gary Bales - Producer, BBC Radio 6Music

Eve Barlow - Deputy Editor, NME

Kate Blakemore - Music Supervisor, Lime Pictures

Ric Blaxill - Music & Content Director, Bauer Media

Lyndsey Boggis - Executive Producer, BBC Introducing

Leyton Bracegirdie - Channel Manager, Chart Show TV

Elisa Bray - Music Editor, The Independent

Lauren Brennan - Music Producer, BBC Radio 6Music

Paul Bridgewater - Editor, The Line Of Best Fit

Luke Morgan Britton - News Editor, The Line Of Best Fit

Paddy Kelly Bunce - Managing Editor, Capital TV & Heart TV

James Bursey - Producer, BBC Radio 1


James Cabooter - Writer, Daily Star

Ally Carnwath - Writer, The Observer

Kim Carr - Music Features Editor, Daily Star

Jason Carter - Head of BBC Introducing & BBC Radio Events, BBC

Dave Chase - Director of Music, Burberry

Tim Chipping - Music Editor, Holy Moly

James Clark - Producer, BBC Radio 1

Aimee Cliff - Editor, DUMMY

Greg Cochrane - Editor,

Kate Cocker - Content Controller, Key 103

Hattie Collins - Music Editor, i-D Magazine

Tom Connaughton - Director of Content & Programming, VEVO

Will Cook - Deputy Editor, The 405

Robert Copsey - Music Editor, Digital Spy

Fearne Cotton - Presenter, BBC Radio 1

Tom Cotton - Head Of Music, Amazing Radio

Dave Coull - Music Manager, UKRD Radio

Thomas Coxhead - Owner, House Of Coxhead

Michael Cragg - Writer, The Guardian, Popjustice

Alex Critchley - Talent & Music Label Director, MTV

James Curran - Head Of Music, Absolute Radio


Rob Da Bank - Presenter, BBC Radio 1

Rhian Daly - Assistant Reviews Editor, NME

Ellie Davis - Producer, BBC Radio 2

Tim Dickinson - Editor, The Blue Walrus

Mike Diver - Online Editor, Clash Magazine

Malcolm Dome - Writer & Broadcaster, Total Rock

JJ Dunning - Editor, The Fly


E-Plus - Presenter, Capital Xtra

Jamal Edwards - Founder, SBTV

Priya Elan - Senior Culture Writer, Grazia

Jess Eldridge - Music Series Producer, 3DD Productions

Jonny Ensall - Music & Clubs Editor, Time Out


Jimi Famurewa - Features Editor, Shortlist Magazine

Matt Fincham - Producer, BBC Radio 1

Chantelle Fiddy - Contributing Editor, RWD

Mark Findlay - Group Head of Live Music, Global Radio

Rob Fitzpatrick - UK Editor, Spotify

James Foley - Head of Editorial, Deezer


Vic Galloway - Broadcaster, BBC Scotland

George Garner - Features Editor, Kerrang!

Jim Gellatly - Presenter, In:Demand Uncut

Pierre Godson-Amamoo - Co-Founder, GRM Daily

Sean Griffith - Staff Writer, Mixmag

Nick Grimshaw - Presenter, BBC Radio 1


Hanna Hanra - Editor-in-Chief, The Beat

Nigel Harding - Music Team, BBC Radio 1

Kevin Harley - Pop Critic, The Independent

Amelia Hartley - Head of Music, Endemol UK / Tiger Aspect

Mary Anne Hobbs - Presenter, BBC Radio 6Music

Will Hodgkinson - Chief Music Writer, The Times

Ben Homewood - Deputy Editor, The Fly

Luke Hood - Founder, UKF

Paul Hourican - Talent & Music, MTV

Michael Hubbard - Editor, musicOMH

Michelle Hunter - Producer, In:Demand Uncut

Ludovic Hunter-Tilney - Pop Critic, Financial Times


Tim Ingham - Editor, MusicWeek


Malcom Jack - Rock & Pop Editor, The Big Issue

Dean Jackson - Presenter, BBC Introducing

Tim Jonze - Music Editor, The Guardian

Harriet Jordan-Wrench - Director, Secret Sessions


John Kennedy - DJ, XFM

David Kerr - Music Editor, The Skinny

Talia Kraines - Producer, Heat Radio


James Lachno - Music Critic, Telegraph

Paul Lester - Writer, The Guardian

Michael Lewin - Editor, Notion

Alice Levine - Presenter, BBC Radio 1

Geoff Lloyd - Presenter, Absolute Radio

Janice Long - Presenter, BBC Radio 2

Jen Long - Presenter, BBC Radio 1

Zane Lowe - Presenter, BBC Radio 1

Laura Lukanz - Music Manager, BBC Radio 1Xtra

Natasha Lynch - Producer, BBC Radio 1

Dorian Lynskey - Writer, The Guardian, Q, GQ Magazine


Annie Mac - Presenter, BBC Radio 1

Paul MacInnes - Editor, The Guardian Guide

Alex Macpherson - Writer, The Guardian

Andrea Madden - Music Supervisor, Made In Chelsea

Andy Malt - Editor, CMU

Matt Mason - Senior Editor, Q Magazine

Jake May - Editor, Basement Fever

Shey McFez - Editor, Some Kind Of Awesome

Bernadette McNulty - Music Editor, Telegraph

Ally McCrae - Presenter, BBC Radio 1

Olly Meakins - Editor, Maximum Pop

Alexander Milas - Editor, Metal Hammer

Alex Miller - Editor-In-Chief, VICE UK

MistaJam - Presenter, BBC Radio 1 & BBC Radio 1Xtra

Joe Muggs - Writer, The Arts Desk, Mixmag

Owen Myers - Music Editor, Dazed & Confused


Dave Newbury - Writer, Le Cool, Londonist, The Independent

Jon Newey - Editor, Jazzwise

Nihal - Presenter, BBC Asian Network


David O'Coy - Editor, Fused Magazine


Pete Paphidas - Music Writer

Ben Patashnik - Editor, Rock Sound

Joseph 'JP' Patterson - UK Correspondent, MTV IGGY

Chris Pattinson - Head Of Music, Black Cab Sessions

Chloe Pearson - Music Producer, BBC Radio 1

Camilla Pia - Music Team, BBC Radio 6Music

Ed Potton - Rock & Pop Editor, The Times

Chris Price - Head Consultant, Record Of The Day

Simon Price - Writer, The Quietus, Q

Oliver Primus - Editor, The 405


Raziq Raof - Editor, Thrash Hits

Rigsy - Presenter, BBC Radio Ulster

James Robertson - Music Columnist, Sunday Mirror

Peter Robinson - Editor, Popjustice

Rodigan - Presenter, BBC Radio 1Xtra

Jude Rogers - Music Writer

Raj Rudolph - Editor, EQ Music


Ruth Saxelby - Associate Editor, DUMMY

DJ Semtex - Presenter, BBC Radio 1Xtra

Paul Scaife - Editor-In-Chief, Record Of The Day

Sunil Singhvi - Music & Entertainment Partnerships, Twitter

Charlie Sloth - Presenter, BBC Radio 1Xtra

Christian Smith - Head Of Music, KISS Networks

Jeff Smith - Head Of Music, BBC Radio 2 & BBC Radio 6Music

David Smyth - Chief Rock & Pop Critic, Evening Standard

Joe Sparrow - Founder, New Band A Day

Huw Stephens - Presenter, BBC Radio 1

Paul Stokes - Associate Editor, Q Magazine

Georgina Stone - Music Manager, Blinkbox

Caroline Sullivan - Writer, The Guardian


DJ Target - Presenter, BBC Radio 1 & BBC Radio 1Xtra

Eddy Temple-Morris - Presenter, XFM

Lee Thompson - Head Of Music, BT TV

Tom Thorogood - Music Reporter, The Sun

Thristian - Head Of Music, Boileroom.TV

Stephen Titmus - Music Manager, Shazam

Andrew Trendall - Assistant Editor, Gigwise


Tim Vernon - Deputy Head Of Music, Absolute Radio

Lisa Verrico - Writer, Sunday Times


Mike Walsh - Head Of Music, XFM

Lana Webb - Head Of Music & Talent, Remedy Productions

Andy Welch - Music Editor, Press Association

Jez Welham - Presenter, KISS

Jo Whiley - Presenter, BBC Radio 2

Toby Whitehouse - Station Director, Gaydio

Matt Wilkinson - New Music Editor, NME

Ben Wolford - Music Producer, Absolute Radio

Sam Wolfson - Executive Editor, Noisey


Kieran Yates - Writer, The Guardian