Main content

A Bao A Qu from Anthology of Fantastic Zoology by Mason Bates: The full performance

Watch the full performance of Mason Bates' piece by the BBC Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Rafael Payare.

American DJ and composer Mason Bates premiered his compelling 30-minute orchestral symphony Anthology of Fantastic Beats in 2015. Each of the eleven movements conjures up a mythical creature from Jorge Luis Borges' Book of Imaginary Beings, including the tower-dwelling beast, A Bao A Qu.

Warning: This video contains some flashing images.

Explore more teaching resources for Mason Bates' music using the links below.

Release date:


4 minutes

This clip is from