Main content

LISTEN: The broadcast premiere of Peter Maxwell Davies's final work 'Movement for String Quartet' performed by the Behn Quartet

The first broadcast performance of some of the last music Peter Maxwell Davies wrote before his death in March 2016, a movement from what would have been a new string quartet. Presenter Tom Service introduces the piece alongside cellist Ghislaine McMullin and violist Lydia Abell from the Behn Quartet.

Release date:


7 minutes


Role Contributor
Composer Peter Maxwell Davies