Main content

Sylvia Plath's Ariel

The collection that made Sylvia Plath's reputation as one of the most significant 20th century voices was published posthumously in 1965.

Readings of poems from Ariel by Plath herself powerfully illustrate its confessional nature. The original edition of Ariel was edited and compiled by Ted Hughes, Plath's husband from whom she had been separated, and we hear Hughes and Plath interviewed about their domestic life.

A new version of the collection was published in 2004 that restored Plath's original order and included twelve poems previously excluded.

Extracts from Ariel and Lady Lazarus read by Sylvia Plath and Extract from The Elm read by Aurelia Plath.

Release date:


6 minutes

Featured in...

More clips from Access All Areas 1955-1982