Main content

Nikolaus Pevsner on the architecture of Cartmel Priory

First shown in 1968, Professor Nikolaus Pevsner visits Cartmel Priory while preparing the North Lancashire volume of his book series on architecture, The Buildings of England. The Leipzig-born author describes the architecture of Cartmel Priory, now in Cumbria due to boundary changes but part of Lancashire at the time. Pevsner's book series was published in 46 volumes between 1951 and 1974, and covered every major building in England.

Release date:


9 minutes

This clip is from