Main content

Taneyev: Piano Quintet

Stephen Johnson is joined by the Danel Quartet & David Fanning to explore the nuances found in a hidden gem of the chamber music repertoire - the Piano Quintet by Sergei Taneyev.

Sometimes referred to as "the Russian Brahms", Taneyev was a pupil of Tchaikovsky at the Moscow Conservatoire, and in turn taught younger composers such as Scriabin, Gliere, Rachmaninoff and Medtner. He was a fine pianist himself, and was the soloist in the premieres of all of Tchaikovsky's Piano Concertos.

This Piano Quintet in G minor was written towards the end of Taneyev's life in 1911 and ranks among the finest examples of Russian Romantic chamber music.

Release date:


47 minutes


Role Contributor
Composer Sergei Ivanovich Taneyev