Main content

Dowland: Lachrymae & Britten: Lachrymae

Andrew Manze takes a close look at the music and ideas behind the seven pavans from John Dowland's Lachrymae or Seven Teares, published in 1605 for lute and viol consort. This profoundly intimate and expressive music has been described as the Renaissance equivalent to Beethoven's late quartets and is performed by the viol group Concordia. Andrew also looks at Benjamin Britten's Lachrymae.

Release date:


1 hour, 7 minutes


Role Contributor
Composer John Dowland
Composer Benjamin Britten