Main content

Theme and Variations

Charles Hazlewood, pianist David Owen Norris and the BBC Concert Orchestra look in detail at the very different ways three great composers have, in Mozart's words, "taken a tune for a walk". They explore orchestral variations by Haydn, the slow movement of the "Surprise" Symphony, Elgar's approach in the "Enigma" Variations and give a complete performance of Gershwin's colourful Variations on "I got rhythm".

Release date:


41 minutes


Role Contributor
Composer Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Composer Joseph Haydn
Composer Edward Elgar
Composer George Gershwin