Main content

Copland: Appalachian Spring (Chamber Version)

The theme of Aaron Copland's 1944 ballet Appalachian Spring is the pioneer spirit of a young couple about to set out on married life in early nineteenth century Pennsylvania. The spring celebration is set in their brand new farmhouse. Copland's music is often described as being among his most American sounding works, not least for the inclusion of the Shaker hymn "Simple gifts" at its climax.

In this audience workshop Charles Hazlewood and members of his chamber orchestra, Excellent Device, search for the connections between the theme and the character of the music.

Release date:


33 minutes


Role Contributor
Composer Aaron Copland