Main content

Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances

Stephen Johnson joins the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and the Russian conductor Alexander Titov in the City Halls in Glasgow, for an exploration of Rachmaninov's Symphonic Dances. Written when he was 67, the Symphonic Dances was his last completed composition, and Rachmaninov himself considered it to be have been the best work that he had composed. Stephen Johnson explores the work with musical extracts.

Release date:


51 minutes


Role Contributor
Composer Sergey Rachmaninov