Main content

Leos Janacek

Donald Macleod explores the brilliant, tempestuous last five years of the life of Leos Janacek, a composer who has been described as classical music's 'anti-prodigy'.

In the years from his 70th birthday in 1924 to his death in 1928 Janacek produced astonishing masterpieces including the operas 'The Cunning Little Vixen' and 'From the House of the Dead', two string quartets and the Glagolitic Mass.

Much of his music was inspired by his unfulfilled love for a younger married woman, Kamila Stosslova.

Release date:


44 minutes


Role Contributor
Composer Leos Janáček