Main content

Vaughan Williams and the Lost Generation

Stephen Johnson is joined by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and conductor Michael Seal, with violinist Lesley Hatfield and tenor James Gilchrist. Together they explore the English idyll in light of the First World War, specifically Butterworth's A Shrophsire Lad and Vaughan Williams's On Wenlock Edge and The Lark Ascending.

Release date:


38 minutes


Role Contributor
Composer Ralph Vaughan Williams