Main content

Strauss: Metamorphosen

Richard Strauss conceived his late masterpiece for twenty-three solo strings as a memorial for a lost musical culture, particularly the bombing of the Munich Opera House, scene of so many of his operatic triumphs. In this workshop session Charles Hazlewood and his ensemble, Excellent Device explore the musical detail behind this very personal work, revealing in the process how strongly the shadow of Beethoven is cast over the music, particularly the Eroica Symphony.

Release date:


33 minutes


Role Contributor
Composer Richard Strauss