Main content

Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet

In his famous ballet music, Prokofiev provides the tragic young lovers with some of his most lyrical and colourful music. Charles Hazlewood charts the doomed love of Romeo and Juliet as it is revealed in the evolution of the musical material assembled by Prokofiev in five movements from the second of the three orchestral suites. The performance is given by the BBC Philharmonic, conducted by Jason Lai.

Release date:


28 minutes


Role Contributor
Composer Sergei Prokofiev