Main content

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky - the years 1876 to 1890

Donald Macleod takes a series of snapshots of a period that lay at the centre of Tchaikovsky's creative life, from 1876 to 1890. This exploration begins with his works, Swan Lake and String Quartet No.3. Donald Macleod then examines Tchaikovsky's operas, Mazeppa and Queen of Spades. Finally he takes a look at Tchaikovsky's Souvenir de Florence.

Release date:


45 minutes


Role Contributor
Composer Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Featured in...