Main content

Liszt: Piano Concertos

Sara Mohr-Pietsch considers the background and music to Liszt's first two piano concertos with pianist Piers Lane and the BBC Concert Orchestra conducted by Keith Lockhart. Liszt wrote, and serially revised, what we now call Piano Concerto No 1 in E flat and No 2 in A, over a period of 30 years.

Sara Mohr-Pietsch considers the ways in which the pianist/composer strove to create a new kind of concerto worthy of the sensibilities and aesthetic of the early romantic period during the first half of the 19th Century.

Release date:


43 minutes


Role Contributor
Composer Franz Liszt