Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante (K.364)

Soloists Leslie Hatfield (violin) and Steven Burnard (viola) join the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and Charles Hazlewood to explore Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante in E Flat.

Mozart 'discovered' the sinfonia concertante or concertos involving more than one soloist in Mannheim, played by the fine orchestra there, in 1778. Back in Salzburg a year or so later he wrote one of his own – the Sinfonia Concertante in E flat, which is one of the greatest and most original of all his concertos. In this workshop and performance, Charles Hazlewood conducts the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, with soloists Lesley Hatfield (violin) and Steven Burnard (viola).

1 hour


Music Played

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Sinfonia concertante for violin, viola and orchestra (K.364) in E flat major

    Performers: BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Lesley Hatfield (Violin), Steven Burnard (Viola)


Composers A to Z

Composers A to Z

Visit the extensive audio archive of Radio 3 programmes about Composers and their works.