Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Schumann Plus performed by the Leonore Piano Trio

Nicola Heywood Thomas presents Schumann Plus - a live series of concerts from St David's Hall, Cardiff, today featuring the Leonore Piano Trio.

Nicola Heywood Thomas presents Schumann Plus, a series of concerts broadcast live from St David's Hall, Cardiff, focusing on the music of Robert Schumann, plus works by lesser-known composers including Doreen Carwithen, Henriëtte Bosmans, Ruth Gipps and Susan Spain-Dunk.

In the final concert this week broadcast live from St David’s Hall in Cardiff, the Leonore Piano Trio perform Schumann’s four movement Fantasiestücke, completed in 1842 when the composer was focused on a number of chamber works that year. In this work Schumann experiments with form, composing a four movement piano trio, but with shorter and more whimsical movements. The concert concludes with music by the Dutch composer Henriëtte Bosmans, who composed her three movement Piano Trio in 1921, a period when she’d been studying with Arnold Schoenberg.

Leonore Piano Trio
Benjamin Nabarro, violin
Gemma Rosefield, cello
Tim Horton, piano

Schumann: Fantasiestücke, Op 88
Bosmans: Piano Trio

Produced by Luke Whitlock

57 minutes

Music Played

  • Robert Schumann

    Fantasiestucke, Op 88

    Ensemble: Leonore Piano Trio.
  • Henriëtte Bosmans

    Piano Trio

    Ensemble: Leonore Piano Trio.
  • Joseph Haydn

    Piano Trio in C Hob 15 No 27 (4th mvt, Presto)

    Ensemble: Leonore Piano Trio.


  • Fri 21 May 2021 13:00