Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Live from Maida Vale Studios, London, The Northern Chords Ensemble

Live from Maida Vale Studios, the Northern Chords Ensemble with music by Copland, Nico Muhly, Florence Price, Vaughan Williams, Barber, Britten and Kaner. Ian Skelly presents.

The Northern Chords Festival taking place on the banks of the River Tyne, in Newcastle and Gateshead - founded in 2009 by Artistic Director and cellist Jonathan Bloxham - brings together some of the most exciting young musicians from across Europe.

In this special session live from London’s Maida Vale studio, the Northern Chords Ensemble - joined by baritone Jonathan McGovern, violinist Benjamin Baker and pianist Daniel Lebhardt - present music by, among others, Copland, Nico Muhly, Florence Price, Vaughan Williams, Barber, Britten, and a world premiere by Matthew Kaner. Jonathan Bloxham conducts.

Presented by Ian Skelly.

Aaron Copland: Hoe-Down, from Rodeo
Nico Muhly: The Last Letter (broadcast premiere)
Florence Price: Adoration
Matthew Kaner: ‘A light dusting’, from Five Highland Scenes (world premiere)
Nico Muhly: A long Line
Ralph Vaughan Williams: Dives & Lazarus

Interval - c.20 minutes, including;
Gershwin: Porgy and Bess Suite

Aaron Copland: Old American Songs, “Long Time Ago”
Nico Muhly: Traditional Songs, “A Brisk Young Lad”
Benjamin Britten: “I wonder as I wander”
Samuel Coleridge-Taylor: Deep River (solo piano version)
Tonia Ko: The Return (world premiere)
Ralph Vaughan Williams: 3 Songs by Walk Whitman “Nocturne
Samuel Barber: Adagio for Strings
Benjamin Britten: Young Apollo

Jonathan McGovern, baritone
Benjamin Baker, violin
Daniel Lebhardt, piano
Northern Chords Festival Ensemble
Jonathan Bloxham, conductor

Producer: Juan Carlos Jaramillo

2 hours, 28 minutes

Last on

Tue 13 Apr 2021 19:30

Music Played

  • Aaron Copland

    Hoe Down

    Ensemble: The Northern Chords Ensemble.
  • Nico Muhly

    The Last Letter

    Ensemble: The Northern Chords Ensemble.
  • Florence Price


    Performer: Benjamin Baker.
  • Matthew Kaner

    A Light Dusting

    Performer: Benjamin Baker.
  • Nico Muhly

    A Long Line

    Performer: Benjamin Baker.
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams

    Dives and Lazarus

    Ensemble: The Northern Chords Ensemble.
  • George Gershwin

    Porgy And Bess Suite

    Orchestra: Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen. Conductor: Jonathan Bloxham.
    • ACT.
  • Aaron Copland

    Long Time Ago

    Performer: Jonathan McGovern.
  • Nico Muhly

    A Brisk Young Lad

    Performer: Jonathan McGovern.
  • Benjamin Britten

    I wonder as I wander

    Performer: Jonathan McGovern.
  • Samuel Coleridge-Taylor

    Deep River

    Performer: Daniel Lebhardt.
  • Tonia Ko

    The Return

    Performer: Jonathan McGovern.
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams

    3 Songs by Walt Whitman

    Performer: Jonathan McGovern.
  • Samuel Barber

    Adagio for Strings

    Ensemble: The Northern Chords Ensemble.
  • Benjamin Britten

    Young Apollo

    Ensemble: The Northern Chords Ensemble.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Chaconne, from Partita in D minor, BWV1004

    Music Arranger: Helga Thoene. Performer: Gordan Nikolitch. Choir: Tenebrae. Conductor: Nigel Short.
    • Fauré: Requiem / Bach: Partita / Chorales & Ciaconna.
    • LSO Live.
    • 009.
  • Joby Talbot

    Path of Miracles: Leon

    Choir: Tenebrae. Director: Nigel Short.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Prelude and Fugue in C minor, BWV 847 (Fugue)

    Performer: Maurizio Pollini.
    • J. S. Bach: The Well-Tempered Clavier 1: Maurizio Pollini.
    • Deutsche Grammaphon.
    • 4.


  • Tue 13 Apr 2021 19:30