Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Sara Parker introduces the winners and finalists recognising exceptional student feature making in memory of her father.

2020 is another year of exceptional student feature makers - celebrated in the annual Charles Parker Prize programme.

Awarded to university and college students across the UK in recognition of outstanding feature production, the prize is named after the famous radio producer Charles Parker.

Though the late 1950s and 60s, Charles Parker, along with Ewan MacColl and Peggy Seeger, produced a series of innovative programmes now known as the 'Radio Ballads' which arguably pioneered a new landscape of radio storytelling - combining interwoven interviews and original verbatim musical compositions.

Charles' daughter Sara Parker, herself an award-winning radio producer, introduces this year's winners and finalists, as we hear their journeys producing eight award-winning features on themes ranging from dementia, sex working, Cornish identity, film projection, and homelessness; all in celebration of her father's legacy.

This programme showcases extracts from all five winners of 2020; Alex Morgan, Charlotte Hurrell, Gabriel Green, Lewis Harrrower, and Richard Queree, as well as the three runner-up finalists; Bruce Guthrie, Chantal Herbert, and James Montague. You can hear the five winners' work in full in the series 'New Storytellers' on BBC Sounds.

Producer: Jay Sykes

A Soundscape Production for BBC Radio 4 Extra.

1 hour

Last on

Sun 16 Aug 2020 19:00

More episodes



Coming soon

See all episodes from Charles Parker Prize


  • Sun 16 Aug 2020 11:00
  • Sun 16 Aug 2020 19:00