Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Robert Hollingworth, Jennifer Pike

Sean Rafferty is joined by Robert Hollingworth, director of the choir, I Fagiolini, to talk about the choir's various current projects. Today's In Tune Home Session is by violinist Jennifer Pike.

2 hours

Music Played

  • Joseph Haydn

    Cello Concerto in C Major, Hob. VIIb:1: III. Finale. Allegro molto (Live)

    Performer: Natalie Clein. Orchestra: recreation - Großes Orchester Graz. Conductor: Michael Hofstetter.
    • Haydn: Cello Concertos Nos. 1-2 & Symphony No. 13 in D Major, Hob. I:13 (Live).
    • Oehms Classics.
    • 203.
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Symphony No. 4 in F Minor, Op. 36, TH 27: IV. Finale. Allegro con fuoco (Live)

    Conductor: Manfred Honeck. Orchestra: Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra.
    • Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4 - Johnathan Leshnoff: Double Concerto for Clarinet &.
    • Reference Recordings.
    • 104.
  • Claudio Monteverdi

    Si ch'io vorrei morire

    Ensemble: I Fagiolini. Conductor: Robert Hollingworth.
    • Monteverdi - Fire and Ashes.
    • Chandos.
  • Thomas Tomkins

    Was ever wretch tormented

    Choir: I Fagiolini. Director: Robert Hollingworth.
    • CHANDOS.
  • Maurice Ravel

    Piano Concerto in G Major (2nd mvt)

    Music Arranger: Roderick Williams. Performer: Anna Markland. Ensemble: I Fagiolini. Conductor: Robert Hollingworth.
    • Amuse-Bouche - French Choral Delicacies.
    • Decca.
    • 29.
  • Robert Schumann

    Three Romances, no.2

    Performer: Ewan Millar. Performer: Adrienne Black.
  • Henry Purcell

    King Arthur, Act I: Prelude, Song & Chorus - Come If You Dare

    Conductor: Paul McCreesh. Ensemble: Giovanni Gabrieli.
    • Purcell: King Arthur, 1691.
    • Signum Classics.
    • 205.
  • Henry Purcell

    King Arthur, Z628; Grand Dance - Chaconne

    Ensemble: Gabrieli Players. Conductor: Paul McCreesh.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major, Op. 19 - Rondo

    Performer: Martha Argerich. Orchestra: 水戸室内管弦楽団. Conductor: Seiji Ozawa.
    • Decca.
  • Georges Bizet

    Carmen: Habanera

    Performer: Jamie Barton. Performer: BBC Symphony Chorus. Performer: BBC Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Sakari Oramo.
  • Pietro Mascagni

    Intermezzo (Cavalleria rusticana)

    Orchestra: Orchestre de Paris. Conductor: Semyon Bychkov.
    • Mascagni: Cavalleria Rusticana - Norman, Giacomini.
    • Philips.
  • Gustav Holst

    Jesu sweet, now will I sing, from Four Songs Op. 35, No. 1

    Performer: Jennifer Pike.
  • William Grant Still

    Prelude for flute, string quintet and piano (3rd mvt)

    Performer: Alexa Still. Performer: Michael Steer. Performer: Susan DeWitt Smith. Ensemble: New Zealand String Quartet.
    • KOCH.
  • Jules Massenet

    Thais - Act 3 finale

    Performer: Erin Wall. Performer: Joshua Hopkins. Orchestra: Toronto Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Andrew Davis.
    • Chandos.


  • Mon 11 May 2020 17:00

BBC Instrumental Sessions with the BBC Orchestras and Choirs

BBC Instrumental Sessions with the BBC Orchestras and Choirs

Music videos with single instruments in lockdown, and links to playalong scores.

Home Sessions

Home Sessions

Keeping listeners in touch with favourite performers, making music in their own homes.

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios