Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Egidija Medeksaite and Bent Sorensen

Tom Service presents contemporary sounds from sound artist Fred Szymanski, Egidija Medeksaite and Bent Sørensen's Second Symphony, which has been occupying him for many years.

Tom Service presents the latest in new music in a show which ranges from the multi-layered electro-acoustic music of New York sound artist Fred Szymanski via the cool, interlocking textures of Lithuanian-born Egidija Medeksaite, to the premiere performance of a major orchestral work by Bent Sørensen which has been occupying him for many years.

Fred Szymanski: Horn Volley

Egidija Medeksaite: Malakosha
Royal Northern Sinfonia, James Weeks (conductor)

Chia-Ying Lin: Intermezzo to the Minotaur
members of the Philharmonia Orchestra, Geoffrey Patterson (conductor)

Georges Aperghis: Graffitis (1980)
Christian Dierstein (percussion and vocalisation)

Bent Sørensen: Symphony No. 2 (first performance)
Danish National Symphony Orchestra, Jukka-Pekka Saraste (conductor)

Magnus Granberg & Skogen: ‘Nun, es wird nicht weit mehr gehn’

1 hour, 59 minutes

Last on

Sat 18 Apr 2020 22:00

Music Played

  • Fred Szymanski

    Horn Volley

    Performer: Fred Szymanski.
  • Egidija Medekšaitė


    Orchestra: Royal Northern Sinfonia. Conductor: James Weeks.
  • Chia-Yin Ling

    Intermezzo to the Minotaur

    Orchestra: Philharmonia Orchestra. Conductor: Geoffrey Paterson.
    • Composers' Academy.
    • NMC.
    • 1.
  • Georges Aphergis


    Performer: Christian Dierstein.
  • Bent Sørensen

    Symphony No. 2 (premiere)

    Orchestra: Danish National Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Jukka‐Pekka Saraste.
  • Magnus Granberg

    Nun, es wird nicht weit mehr gehn

    Ensemble: Skogen.
    • Nun, es wird nicht weit mehr gehn.
    • Another Timbre.
    • 1.


  • Sat 18 Apr 2020 22:00

Featured in...

Contact Radio 3's New Music Show

Contact Radio 3's New Music Show

Find out how to contact the NMS team and learn how we treat your data.

Hear and Now

Hear and Now

Browse past editions of contemporary music programmes on Radio 3.