Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

NGA 20th anniversary week

Concerts from Europe, featuring alumni of the BBC NGA Scheme in its 20th anniversary year. Presented by Fiona Talkington.

Fiona Talkington presents concerts from across Europe featuring alumni of the BBC New Generation Artist scheme, which is celebrating its 20th anniversary year this week.

Tonight's programme features one-time members of the BBC NGA scheme who have gone on to international success and now perform all over the world.

In this selection of recordings from the past twelve months, we visit the Belgian Radio 'Klarafest' in Brussels, the Montpellier Festival the Mihail Jora Concert Hall in Bucharest, the Czech Chamber Music Society concerts in the Rudolfinum in Prague, and the Konzerthaus in Berlin - all in the company of some of the outstanding musicians of our time, all of whom have come through the BBC's scheme to support young musicians.

In the days before 'BBC introducing', the New Generation Scheme began offering a helping hand and concert experience to a varied collection of singers, groups and instrumentalists just starting out on their musical careers, and every two years the doors would open to a new intake of potential super stars.

The Artemis Quartet featured between 2003 and 2005, Nicolas Alstaedt in 2010-2012, the Pavel Haas Quartet (2007-2009) and Alina Ibragimova (2005-2007).

String Quartet No 14 in D minor, D 810, 'Death and the Maiden'
Artemis Quartet

Cello Concerto in A minor, Op 129
Nicolas Alstaedt, cello
Orchestre National de France
Emmanuel Krivine, conductor

The Seasons (excerpts)
Eduard Kunz (piano)

String Quartet No 8 in C minor, Op 110
Pavel Haas Quartet

Violin Concerto in D minor, Op 8
Alina Ibragimova (violin)
Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra
Vladimir Jurowski

2 hours, 14 minutes

Music Played

  • Franz Schubert

    Quartet In D Minor, D.810 'Death And The Maiden'

    Ensemble: Artemis String Quartet.
  • Robert Schumann

    Concerto in A minor, Op.129

    Performer: Nicolas Altstaedt. Orchestra: Orchestre national de France. Conductor: Emmanuel Krivine.
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Extract from The Seasons Op.37b for piano

    Performer: Eduard Kunz.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    String Quartet No.8 in C minor, Op.110

    Ensemble: Pavel Haas Quartet.
  • Richard Strauss

    Violin Concerto in D minor, Op.8

    Performer: Alina Ibragimova.
  • Claude Debussy

    2 Arabesques for piano

    Performer: Simon Trpceski.
    • Debussy: Images/Children's Corner etc: Simon Trpceski.
    • EMI Classics.
    • 1.


Featured in...

The women erased from musical history

The women erased from musical history

Discover the music of five forgotten women composers, performed in a special IWD concert.

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Music by Malcolm Arnold, Edward Elgar and Herbert Howells.