Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Reykjavik Midsummer Music 2019 - Shostakovich and Tchaikovsky

From the 2019 Reykjavik Midsummer Music festival, Shostakovich's String Quartet No 11 in F minor and an arrangement for piano trio of Tchaikovsky's Souvenir de Florence.

In the last of his week's programmes of highlights from the 2019 Reykjavik Midsummer Music involving pianist Vikingur Ólafsson and friends, Sarah Walker introduces performances of a quartet by Shostakovich and an unusual arrangement of Tchaikovsky's Souvenir de Florence..

Shostakovich: String Quartet No 11
Ilya Gringolts (violin)
Anahit Kurtikyan (violin)
Yura Lee (viola)
Leonard Elschenbroich (cello)

Tchaikovsky arr. Matan Porat : Souvenir de Florence
Yura Lee (violin)
Jakob Korányi (cello)
Vikingur Ólafsson (piano)

57 minutes

Music Played

  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    Sonata No. 5 in F minor for violin and keyboard, BWV1018

    Performer: Ilya Gringolts. Performer: Anahit Kurtikyan. Performer: Yura Lee. Performer: Leonard Elschenbroich.
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Souvenir de Florence Op.70, arr. Porat for piano trio

    Performer: Yura Lee. Performer: Jakob Koranyi. Performer: Víkingur Ólafsson. Music Arranger: מתן פורת.