Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Esme Quartet, Dramma per Musica, José Luis Gomez

Sean Rafferty presents a lively mix of music and arts news with live performance in the studio from the Esme Quartet. We hear from Dramma per Musica and speak to José Luis Gomez.

Sean Rafferty presents a lively mix of music and arts news with live performance in the studio from the Esme Quartet who perform at Wigmore hall this weekend. We hear from Dramma per Musica ahead of their concert at the Brighton Early festival and speak to conductor José Luis Gomez who is on tour with the Flanders Symphony Orchestra.

2 hours

Music Played

  • George Frideric Handel

    The King shall rejoice (The King shall rejoice, HWV 260)

    Ensemble: Les Arts Florissants. Conductor: William Christie.
    • Les Arts Florissants.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    String Quartet No 1 in F major, Op 18 (4th mvt)

    Ensemble: Esmé Quartet.
  • Claude Debussy

    Première rapsodie (excerpt)

    Performer: Vladimir Soltan. Orchestra: Hamburger Symphoniker. Conductor: José Luis Gómez.
    • MDG.
  • Joaquín Rodrigo

    Concierto de Aranjuez (3rd mvt)

    Performer: Miloš Karadaglić. Orchestra: London Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Yannick Nézet‐Séguin.
    • Milos Karadaglic: Aranjuez.
    • Deutsche Grammophon.
    • 3.
  • Ambroise Thomas

    Oui, pour ce soir je suis reine des fées (Mignon)

    Singer: Sumi Jo. Ensemble: English Chamber Orchestra. Conductor: Giuliano Carella.
    • Les bijoux, French arias: Sumi Jo/English Chamber Orchestra/Carella.
    • Erato.
  • Robert Schumann

    String Quartet No 1 in A minor, Op 14 (1st mvt)

    Ensemble: Esmé Quartet.
  • Astor Piazzolla

    La Muerte Del Angel

    Ensemble: Esmé Quartet.
  • Arthur Butterworth

    Gigues for orchestra

    Orchestra: Royal Scottish National Orchestra. Conductor: Arthur Butterworth.
    • A Butterworth, Symphony no.5: RSNO/Butterworth.
    • Epoch.
    • 10.
  • Joan Tower

    Fanfare No 1 for the Uncommon Woman

    Orchestra: Colorado Symphony. Conductor: Marin Alsop.
    • Fanfares for the Uncommon Woman.
    • Koch.
    • 001.
  • Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina

    Tu es Petrus for 6 voices

    Choir: New York Polyphony.
    • Roma Aeterna.
    • BIS.
    • 12.
  • Richard Wagner

    The Flying Dutchman: Overture

    Orchestra: Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Andrés Orozco‐Estrada.
    • RCA.
  • Claudio Monteverdi

    Rosa del Ciel (L'Orfeo)

    Ensemble: Dramma Per Musica.
  • Marco da Gagliano

    Ovidio's Prologue & Un Guardo (La Dafne)

    Ensemble: Dramma Per Musica.
  • Franz Schubert

    Impromptu in E flat major, D 899 No 2

    Performer: Imogen Cooper.
    • Schubert: Live: Imogen Cooper.
    • Avie.
    • 2.
  • Henry Lawes

    A Storm

    Ensemble: Dramma Per Musica.
  • Erich Wolfgang Korngold


    Conductor: John Wilson. Orchestra: Sinfonia of London.
    • Korngold - Symphony in F sharp.
    • Chandos.
    • 6.


Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios