Main content

Anne Queffélec, Sarah Tynan, Marcus du Sautoy

Katie Derham presents a lively mix of music and arts news with live music from the pianist Anne Queffélec, and soprano Sarah Tynan. Katie also speaks to Marcus du Sautoy.

Katie Derham presents a lively mix of music and arts news with live performance in the studio from the pianist Anne Queffélec. The soprano Sarah Tynan also joins Katie in the studio - she'll be in a production of Gluck's Orpheus and Eurydice which has just opened at English National Opera. And Professor Marcus du Sautoy tells Katie about the mathematical patterns found in the music of Debussy, Bartok and Stravinsky, ahead of a concert next Wednesday at which he joins the Oxford Phliharmonic.

21 days left to listen

2 hours

Music Played

  • Maurice Ravel

    String Quartet in F major (2nd movt)

    Music Arranger: Quatuor Morphing. Ensemble: Quatuor Morphing.
    • Ravel & Mendelssohn.
    • Klarthe.
    • 102.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Choral: Nun komm der Heiden Heiland BWV 659a

    Performer: Anne Queffélec.
  • Béla Bartók

    Harvest Song (44 Violin Duos)

    Performer: Angela Chun. Performer: Jennifer Chun.
    • Bartok 44 Duos.
    • Harmonia Mundi.
    • 27.
  • Igor Stravinsky

    Symphony in Three Movements

    Orchestra: Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Sir Simon Rattle.
    • EMI.
  • Alessandro Marcello

    Adagio (from Oboe Concerto in D minor)

    Performer: Anne Queffélec.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Menuet in G minor HWV 434

    Performer: Anne Queffélec.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Music for the Royal Fireworks, HWV 351 (Overture)

    Orchestra: The English Concert. Conductor: Trevor Pinnock.
    • G.F. Handel: Music for the Royal Fireworks: English Concert/Pinnock.
    • Archiv Produktion.
    • 1.
  • Christoph Willibald Gluck

    Orpheus and Eurydice: Dance of the Furies

    Orchestra: Ensemble Pygmalion. Conductor: Raphaël Pichon.
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams

    The Wasps (Overture)

    Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: André Previn.
    • RCA.
  • Carl Orff

    Carmina Burana: In trutina

    Singer: Sarah Tynan. Orchestra: London Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Hans Graf.
    • LPO.
  • Camille Saint‐Saëns

    Septet in E flat major, Op 65 (Préambule)

    Performer: David Guerrier. Performer: Renaud Capuçon. Performer: Gautier Capuçon. Performer: Frank Braley. Performer: Béatrice Muthelet. Performer: Esther Hoppe. Performer: Janne Saksala.
    • Saint-Saens: Carnaval des Animaux: Capucon/Pahud/Meyer/Dalberto/Braley.
    • Virgin Classics.
    • 19.
  • Benjamin Britten

    The Turn of the Screw (Tower Scene) 'How Beautiful it is'

    Performer: Sarah Tynan. Performer: Gamal Khamis.
  • Christoph Willibald Gluck

    My soul is in torment (Orpheus and Eurydice)

    Performer: Sarah Tynan. Performer: Gamal Khamis.
  • Johann Baptist Georg Neruda

    Horn Concerto in E-Flat Major: I. Allegro

    Performer: Alec Frank-Gemmill. Orchestra: Swedish Chamber Orchestra. Conductor: Nicholas McGegan.
    • Before Mozart: Early Horn Concertos.
    • BIS.
    • 301.
  • George Frideric Handel

    'Behold I tell you a mystery' and 'The trumpet shall sound' from the Messiah

    Singer: Christopher Purves. Performer: Robert Farley. Orchestra: The Sixteen. Conductor: Harry Christophers.
    • CORO.
  • Frédéric Chopin

    Nocturne in F minor, Op 55 No 1

    Performer: Maria João Pires.
    • Chopin: The Nocturnes: Maria Joao Pires.
    • Deutsche Grammophon.
    • 5.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Re-invention No.1

    Music Arranger: Elena Kats‐Chernin. Performer: Genevieve Lacey. Ensemble: Flinders Quartet.
    • Reinventions.
    • ABC Classics.
    • 1.


Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios