Main content

The BBC National Short Story Award ceremony

Live from the Radio Theatre in Broadcasting House, the winners of the 2019 BBC National Short Story Award and the Young Writers' Award are announced.

Five authors have been shortlisted for the 2019 BBC National Short Story Award and the Young Writers' Award, the winners of which will be announced in front of a live audience in the BBC Radio Theatre.

Lucy Caldwell, Lynda Clark, Jacqueline Crooks, Tamsin Grey and Jo Lloyd are competing for the NSSA whose former winners include Lionel Shriver, Sarah Hall and Kate Clanchy.

John Wilson is joined by judges of both awards, as well as the Chair of the NSSA Judges, Nikki Bedi.

Presenter John Wilson
Producer Jerome Weatherald

Available now

28 minutes

NSSA 2019

NSSA 2019

The short stories in the finals of the NSSA 2019 are:

‘The Children’ by Lucy Caldwell
‘Ghillie’s Mum’ by Lynda Clark
‘Silver Fish in the Midnight Sea’ by Jacqueline Crooks
‘My Beautiful Millennial’ by Tamsin Grey
‘The Invisible’ by Jo Lloyd

Image: Jacqueline Crooks, image credit: Christian Patracchini
Lucy Caldwell, image credit: Tom Routh
Tamsin Grey
Jo Lloyd
Lynda Clark, image credit: Nigel King

Listen to their short stories on BBC Sounds

YWA 2019

YWA 2019

The finalists for the Young Writers' Award 2019 are:

Eleanor Clarke for Insula
Tallulah Howarth for Another Pair of Eyes
Isobel Paxton for The Blue of Spring Violets
Georgie Woodhead for Jelly-headed
Rowan Taylor for Allotment

Image: The YWA 2019 finalists:

Eleanor Clarke
Isobel Paxton
Rowan Taylor
Georgie Woodhead
Tallulah Howarth, image credit: Maisie Dickinon @ Obscure Creates

Listen to their stories on BBC Sounds






  • Tue 1 Oct 2019 19:15



A season discovering where artists find inspiration and helping listeners get creative.

BBC Arts Digital

BBC Arts Digital

The best of British culture live and on demand.

Front Row on TV

Front Row on TV

Join Mary Beard and guests for live and late debate on Friday evenings on BBC Two.