Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Prom 61 repeat: Vienna Philharmonic and Andrés Orozco-Estrada

Another chance to hear Prom 61: Andrés Orozco‐Estrada conducts the Vienna Philharmonic in Dvorak's 'New World' Symphony and, with Leonidas Kavakos, Korngold's Violin Concerto.

Afternoon Concert with Penny Gore

Another chance to hear the Vienna Philharmonic and conductor Andrés Orozco‐Estrada in Dvorak's New World Symphony and Leonidas Kavakos in Korngold's Violin Concerto.

Presented by Martin Handley at the Royal Albert Hall.

Dvořák: The Noonday Witch
Korngold: Violin Concerto

c.2:45pm INTERVAL: Musicologist Ben Winters discusses Korngold and America.

Dvořák: Symphony No 9 in E minor, 'From the New World'

Leonidas Kavakos (violin)
Vienna Philharmonic, Andrés Orozco‐Estrada (conductor)

Dvořák’s ‘New World’ Symphony, with its wistful slow movement, is the centrepiece of the second concert from the Vienna Philharmonic – a programme of Central European works that showcases the orchestra’s distinctively rich sound. Andrés Orozco-Estrada pairs it with the composer’s colourful, folk-infused tone poem The Noonday Witch, in which a mother’s threats inadvertently summon a witch into her home. Cinematic drama is also a hallmark of Korngold’s richly orchestrated and unashamedly romantic Violin Concerto, performed here by soloist Leonidas Kavakos.

Followed by a selection of recordings from this week's Proms Artists.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Antonín Dvořák

    The Noonday Witch Op. 108

    Orchestra: Vienna Philharmonic. Conductor: Andrés Orozco‐Estrada.
  • Erich Wolfgang Korngold

    Violin Concerto

    Performer: Leonidas Kavakos. Orchestra: Vienna Philharmonic. Conductor: Andrés Orozco‐Estrada.
  • Leonidas Kavakos

    Recuerdos de la Alhambra

    Conductor: Francisco Tárrega.
  • Antonín Dvořák

    Symphony No. 9 in E minor, 'From the New World'

    Orchestra: Vienna Philharmonic. Conductor: Andrés Orozco‐Estrada.
  • Josef Strauss

    Polka Schnell: Ohne Sorgen!

    Orchestra: Vienna Philharmonic. Conductor: Andrés Orozco‐Estrada.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Ich bin vergnügt mit meinem Glücke (Cantata No 84)

    Performer: Katharina Spreckelsen. Singer: Elizabeth Watts. Orchestra: The English Concert. Director: Harry Bicket.
  • Franz Schmidt

    Concertante Variations on a Theme of Beethoven for Piano & Orchestra (1st & 2nd mvts)

    Performer: Markus Becker. Orchestra: NDR Radio Philharmonic Orchestra.