Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Boccherini, Ysaye and Prokofiev from the 2019 Cheltenham Music Festival

Georgia Mann presents BBC New Generation Artists performing music by Boccherini, Ysaye and Prokofiev at the 2019 Cheltenham Music Festival.

Georgia Mann celebrates the twentieth anniversary of BBC Radio 3’s New Generation Artists scheme with a selection of performances by current members, from the Pittville Pump Room at the 2019 Cheltenham Music Festival. To begin, Boccherini’s much loved fourth quintet which includes a fandango, played by Thibaut Garcia and Quatuor Arod. Aleksey Semenenko follows with a performance of a highly challenging solo violin sonata by Eugene Ysaye. To end, Prokofiev’s cello sonata played by Anastasia Kobekina and Lilit Grigoryan. A work which had to be heard by two separate soviet committees, before it was deemed acceptable for public performance in 1950.

Boccherini: Quintet No 4 in D, G.448
Thibaut Garcia, guitar
Quatuor Arod

Ysaye: Sonata in E, Op 27 No 6
Aleksey Semenenko, violin

Prokofiev: Cello Sonata in C, Op 119
Anastasia Kobekina, cello
Lilit Grigoryan, piano

Produced by Luke Whitlock

57 minutes

Music Played

  • Luigi Boccherini

    Quintet No 4 in D major, G 448

    Performer: Thibaut Garcia. Ensemble: Quatuor Arod.
  • Eugène Ysaÿe

    Violin Sonata No 6 in E major, Op 27 No 6

    Performer: Aleksey Semenenko. Performer: Lilit Grigoryan.
  • Sergei Prokofiev

    Cello Sonata in C major, Op 119

    Performer: Anastasia Kobekina. Performer: Lilit Grigoryan.


Featured in...